Gene Barker…No, Bob Autry….You decide!

Every Christmas season when radio stations turn on their Christmas play lists during the weekend, I hear umpteen times throughout the holiday season Gene Autry’s singing of “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”.  I look forward every Christmas to hearing all the classic Christmas songs from the days before I was around…Nat King Cole, Burl Ives, Autry, Johnny Mathis, Frank Sinatra, and my favorites from the Vince Guiraldi Trio. It wasn’t until just a few years ago that when I’d hear Autry sing Rudolph, something just clicked: “Wow….That’s Bob Barker singing!” The more I heard it, the more I pictured Bob singing into the little skinny microphone he held on “The Price is Right”. I did several Google searches to see if I was the only one hearing this, and apparently I was as there was not one entry on Google mentioning the eerie likeness. After I brought up this finding to Jennifer, she began to hear it as well. So I guess at least I’m not alone in what I’m hearing!

So here we go…..Here’s a clip of Autry’s tune from You Tube. Click on the video, and “scroll on down” to the picture of Bob below it and tell me that isn’t Bob! 

So, what do you think??? And here’s audio of Bob himself so you can get both videos going at the same time to judge side by side:

7 Comments

Filed under Odds & Ends

7 responses to “Gene Barker…No, Bob Autry….You decide!

  1. Hmm… at first I thought you’d gone off the deep end, but now that you mention it, it DOES sound like Bob Barker. Even so, it’s a little disturbing that you’re spending so much time proving your point. LOL!

  2. Pat

    Well, but if I don’t blog about “something”, all 3 of my audience will get worried! 😉

  3. Yeah, I know what you mean. Thus the fruitcake saga on my blog. 🙂

  4. Scott M from Eugene

    I thought it WAS Bob Barker, and just googled it up, and found this ‘site. So you are NOT alone!

  5. Jennifer

    I just hope Mr. and Mrs. Claus make sure to have all their reindeer spayed or neutered! 😉

  6. Rhonda

    Every year I tell my husband, it’s Bob Barker, when I hear the songs by Bob, um, I mean Gene Autry! You are not alone.

  7. carol

    i guess i’m weird too because i just heard the son and swore it was bob barker! since the age of goole any little nagging thouht can be addressed right away so here i am looking up this ridiculous bit of information. but somehow i feel satisfied haha – merry christmas!!

Leave a Reply

