Corvair For Sale…

***FINAL UPDATE: Corvair has been sold. Thanks for viewing!***

 

**Updated Selling Price — 3/22/2011**

After 11 years of ownership, the time has come for me to part with my faithful steed, my 1965 Chevrolet Corvair Monza coupe.

First a little history. I purchased it at a used car lot in Greenfield, Indiana in April of 1999. The folks at the lot didn’t really know anything about its history, other than it came from Kentucky. I was in the market for a ride that I could take to car shows & cruise-ins…something to fill free time I had on Friday & Saturday nights. I had previously owned a ’68 Corvair that I purchased as my first car in 1987, plus my dad and several of my brothers owned Corvairs since the 1970′s, so we were the epitome of a Corvair family.

Some basics of it: As mentioned, it’s a ’65 Monza coupe, 110 hp, 164 cubic inch air cooled flat 6 cylinder with a 2 speed automatic powerglide transmission with dual exhaust. It currently has 131K miles on the odometer. I bought it with 93K, so over the 11 years, I’ve averaged about 3,500 miles/year. 

It’s been a good car and met the needs I first had for it. I took it to a lot of Friday & Saturday night car shows & cruise ins. It’s also a GREAT car to just get in & take a drive out in the country or a twisty two-lane road somewhere. It’s been as far west as Iowa & Oklahoma and never left me stranded. I’ve taken it on many road trips around the midwest during various motor tours, especially along fabled Route 66.

Now, for the overview. I won’t get into every detail, but just some things over the past few years. First, this car is not a concours quality Corvair! What it is is a solid, sound running Corvair that you can show off with pride at a cruise-in or benefit car show. We painted it in 2006 after some body work here & there, but nothing real major. Currently it does have some minor bubbling in a couple of typical Corvair prone areas, but nothing is rusted through. Please refer to the link to the Flickr page below for more pictures.

Mechanically it runs well. I purchased two new rebuilt carbs from Grant Young at Wolf Enterprises in 2009. He’s a highly respected Corvair carb guru, and it was a purchase that was well worth it! As for leaks, no, it’s not bone dry underneath. The pesky transmission cable tends to leak when the car’s not run for a period of time, but it’s not too difficult of a fix. I can give the names of a couple of highly respected Corvairs mechanics who can fix it. O-rings and some other engine seals HAVE been replaced since I’ve owned it. It’s also got newer AC plugs, cap/rotor, plug wires, and coil. I also put a Pertronix electronic iginition on it in 2001 and it’s still running strong. Also for the past two summers I’ve used AMSOIL synthetic motor oil.

Wheels/Tires: I currently have Chevy rally wheels (15X7) with Firestone Firehawk 195-60-15 tires. They were purchased about 6 years ago and might have another season left in them. Also, I’m throwing in a set of original stock 13″ rims with ’65 Monza hubcaps if you want to change the look back to original, like I had here:

Interior: I had the seats reupholstered in ’02 and got the material from Clark’s Corvair Parts, along with new carpet. I also installed a Pioneer CD stereo with 2 6″X9″ speakers in the rear and two 2″ speakers under the front dash grill. I also replaced at some point over the past 11 years the headliner, so it’s in good shape as well.

Other odds & ends: As mentioned, this is a GOOD Corvair, but not perfect! It’s got its share of squeaks & such as most 45 year old cars do. I’ve got a maintenance book that I thought I had most everything written down, but after looking through it, there were some things I didn’t write down, so if you have a question about something specific, I may not know the date, but I can tell you if its been dealt with! Also, you may notice in the pictures that the tail lights are those of a ’66-’69 Corvair. The reason? When we gave it a paint job, I decided instead of putting the ’65 tail light lenses back in, I wanted to go with the later version, which I liked better than the ’65s. Also, I had the rear cove painted Argent Silver as the original Corsas were painted. I always liked that, so I went with it, even though it’s a Monza. As for fuel mileage, on a highway trip averaging 55-60mph, I can usually get around 23-24mpg.

As to why I’m selling it? Well, I was a single guy when I bought it 11 years ago with more time than I knew what to do with. But life changed, I married a great gal in 2002, and my interests have changed. We took the plunge last year and bought a small travel trailer and have fallen head first in love with camping.

And no, the Corvair doesn’t have  a tow hitch.  I just did a little strategic positioning for this picture. Even though we’ve since sold this trailer and are moving up to another one, the fact still remains my time for the Corvair has become limited and I’d really like to pass it on to someone who’ll love it as much as I have and give it a nice warm garage to sleep in.

For more pictures, go to:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/11019355@N03/sets/72157624269061122/

If you have an interest and have any questions, I’d be more than happy to answer them! My asking price is $4,750 $4250. My e-mail address is: roadmaven@aol.com. Please note, I’m located in the Indianapolis, Indiana area.

Thanks!

2 Comments

Filed under Odds & Ends

2 responses to “Corvair For Sale…

  1. W.Hudson

    Hi, Do you still have the corvair? Thanks

Leave a Reply

